Nonington  Kent


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Nonington like this:

NONINGTON, a village and a parish in Eastry district, Kent. The village stands in a champaign tract, near the London, Chatham, and Dover railway, 2 miles. S E of Adisham r. station, and 6 S W of Sandwich; and has a post-office under Sandwich. The parish contains also the hamlets of Ratling, Holt-Street, Frogham, and Acol. ...

Acres, 4,081. Real property, £5, 270. Pop., 896. Houses, 185. The property is subdivided. Fredville House belonged formerly to Sir Brook Bridges; passed, by marriage, to J. P. Plumptre, Esq.; and stands in a picturesque park, containing a remarkable oak-tree, 36 feet in girth, and 30 feet high. St. Alban's Court belonged formerly to the Culpepers; passed, in the time of Queen Mary, to the Hammonds; and is now the seat of W. O. Hammond, Esq. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Canterbury. Value, £176* Patron, the Archbishop of Canterbury. The church is chiefly early English; consists of nave, aisle, and two chancels, with W tower; and is in good condition. There are national schools, alms-houses, and some charities.

Nonington through time

Nonington is now part of Dover district. Click here for graphs and data of how Dover has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Nonington itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Nonington, in Dover and Kent | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 25th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Nonington".