Ulster  Ireland


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Ulster like this:

Ulster, northern province of Ireland; is bounded W. and N. by the Atlantic Ocean, E. by the North Channel and the Irish Sea, S. by Leinster and SW. by Connaught; greatest length, N. and S., 110 miles; greatest breadth, E. and W., 130 miles; coast-line, about 380 miles; area, 5,483,201 ac., or 26.4 per cent, of the total area of Ireland; pop. ...

1,743,075, of whom 47.8 per cent are Roman Catholics, 21.8 Episcopalians, 25.9 Presbyterians, and 2.0 Methodists. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) Ulster was the ancient seat or principality of the O'Neils, and in the reigns of Elizabeth and James I. was given to English and Scottish settlers. The linen mfr. has long flourished in Ulster, its annual value being estimated at upwards of £5,000,000. The province comprises 9 counties - Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Monaghan, and Tyrone.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Ulster, in and Ireland | Map and description, A Vision of Ireland through Time.


Date accessed: 29th May 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Ireland through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Ulster".