Munster  Ireland


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Munster like this:

Munster, province, in SW. of Ireland, bounded N. by Connaught, E. by Leinster, and S. and W. by the Atlantic Ocean; greatest length, NE. and SW., 150 miles; greatest breadth, 110 miles; average breadth, 75 miles; area, 6,064,579 ac., or 29.1 per cent, of the total area of Ireland; pop. 1,331,115 (or 4.5 per cent, less than in 1871), of whom 93.8 per cent, are Roman Catholics, 5.3 Episcopalians, 0.3 Presbyterians, and 0.4 Methodists. ...

(For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) Previous to the conquest of Ireland, in the reign of Henry II., Munster was divided into the 2 kingdoms of North Munster (now co. Clare) and South Munster. In the reign of Elizabeth upwards of 574,000 ac. of Munster were forfeited to the Crown by rebellion, and granted to English colonists. Munster comprises 6 counties - Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, and Waterford.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Munster, in and Ireland | Map and description, A Vision of Ireland through Time.


Date accessed: 25th April 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Ireland through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Munster".