Relugas  Moray


In 1882-4, Frances Groome's Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland described Relugas like this:

Relugas, a mansion in Edinkillie parish, Elginshire, on an eminence between the confluent Divie and Findhorn, 3½ miles NNW of Dunphail station, this being 8½ miles S by W of Forres, under which there is a post office of Relugas. Occupying a romantic site, and surrounded by pleasure-grounds of singular beauty, it is a picturesque, irregular edifice, in the cottage ornée style. ...

Its oldest part bears date 1785, and a large addition was made about 1828. The estate belonged for two centuries to the Cumins, whose heiress, Miss Charles Anne Cumin, in 1808 married her third cousin, Sir Thomas Dick-Lauder, Bart. (1784-1848), author of the Moray Floods, etc. It was sold in 1847 to W. M'Killigin, Esq., and again in 1852 to G. R. Smith, Esq., whose daughter-in-law, Mrs Smith, holds 1034 acres in the shire, valued at £486 per annum.—Ord. Sur., sh. 84, 1876. Remilton, a village in Abdie parish, NW Fife, 7 furlongs ESE of Newburgh.

Additional information about this locality is available for Edinkillie

Relugas through time

Relugas is now part of Moray district. Click here for graphs and data of how Moray has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Relugas itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Relugas in Moray | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 13th June 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Relugas".