Loch Ness  Inverness Shire


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Loch Ness like this:

Ness, Loch, Inverness-shire, on the line of the Cale-donian Canal; extends 22½ miles from Bona Ferry on the NE. to Fort Augustus on the SW., and has an average breadth of about 1 mile and a maximum depth of 130 fathoms; its surplus water is carried off by the river NESS: which see.

Loch Ness through time

Loch Ness is now part of Highland district. Click here for graphs and data of how Highland has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Loch Ness itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Loch Ness, in Highland and Inverness Shire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 21st May 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Loch Ness".