Argyll  Argyll


In 1882-4, Frances Groome's Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland described Argyll like this:

Argyll, a district of Argyllshire, bonded NW and N by Loch Melford, Loch Aich, and the lower part of Loch Awe, which separate it from Lorn; E and SE by the upper reach of Loch Fyne, which separates it from Cowal; S by Loch Gilp and the Crinan Canal, which separate it from Knapdale; W by reaches and straits of the Atlantic Ocean, which separate it from the Slate Islands and Mull. ...

Its greatest length, from NE to SW, is 32 miles; and its greatest breadth is 15 miles. -Abounding in grand romantic scenery of lake and mountain, particularly along Loch Fyne, up the course of the river Ary, and along the shores of Loch Awe, it is rich, too, in old historic associations; and as to both its contour and its history, it answers well to its name, which is said to be derived from the Gaelic words Airer-Gaedhil, signifying ` land of the Gael.' It has given the title of Earl since 1457, and the title of Duke since 1701, in the peerage of Scotland, to the noble family of Campbell.-One of the synods of the Church of Scotland bears the name of Argyll; meets at Ardrishaig on the first Wednesday of September; includes or superintends the presbyteries of Inverary, Dunoon, Kintyre, Islay and Jura, Lorn, and Mull, and, through these, exercises jurisdiction over all the old parishes of Argyllshire but one, and over five of the six old parishes of Buteshire. Pop. (1871) 90,948, of whom 9581 were communicants of the Church of Scotland in 1878, when the sums raised in Christian liberality by its 76 congregations amounted to £7464.-There is also a Free Church synod of Argyll, meeting at Lochgilphead on the fourth Wednesday of April; comprising or superintending presbyteries of Dunoon, Inverary, Kintyre, Lorn, Mull,- and Islay; and through these exercising jurisdiction over 54 congregations, with 12,816 members or adherents in 1880. -The Episcopal Church of Scotland has a diocese of Argyll and the Isles, comprehending 25 churches or mission stations. The Cathedral is at Cumbrae, and the bishop's residence is Bishopton, near Lochgilphead.-There is also a Roman Catholic see of Argyll and the Isles, comprising the counties of Argyll and Inverness, Bute, Arran, and the Hebrides. In 1881 it had 18 priests, 19 missions, 37 churches, chapels, and stations, and 4 day schools.

Argyll through time

Argyll is now part of Argyll and Bute district. Click here for graphs and data of how Argyll and Bute has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Argyll itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Argyll in Argyll and Bute | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 27th October 2021

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time , and maybe some references to other places called " Argyll ".