Derwent  East Riding


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Derwent like this:

DERWENT (The) a river of Yorkshire. It rises in the Moors, 3 miles from the sea, and 7 S by E of Whitby; runs 14 miles southward to the boundary between the north and east ridings, 2½ miles W of Willerby; then goes 24 miles south-westward, along that boundary, past Malton, Crambe, and Bossall, to the vicinity of Gate-Helmsley; then proceeds 18½ miles southward, past Catton, Elvington, Thorganby, Bubwith, and Wressel, to the Ouse, at Barnaby-on-the-Marsh. It is navigable to Malton.

Derwent through time

Derwent is now part of Selby district. Click here for graphs and data of how Selby has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Derwent itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Derwent, in Selby and East Riding | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 29th January 2022

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time , and maybe some references to other places called " Derwent ".