Furness  Lancashire


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Furness like this:

Furness, district, NW. Lancashire, bounded N. and E. by Westmorland, S. by Morecambe Bay, and W. by the Irish Sea and Cumberland; is part of the Lake District. The lordship of Furness (created by King Stephen, and given to Furness Abbey), is now the property of Duke of Buccleuch. See DALTON-IN-FURNESS.

Furness through time

Furness is now part of South Lakeland district. Click here for graphs and data of how South Lakeland has changed over two centuries. For statistics about Furness itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Furness, in South Lakeland and Lancashire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 14th July 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Furness".