Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Moray

Moray, ancient province, on S. of Moray Firth; it included the cos. of Elgin and Nairn, the greater part of Inverness-shire, and part of Banffshire. The earldom of Moray was constituted about the beginning of the 12th century, the first earl having died in 1130, and was long one of the most important in Scotland; the title has been held by a branch of the Stuart family since 1561. The bishopric of Moray existed from an early date, and Elgin became the cathedral seat in 1224.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "ancient province"   (ADL Feature Type: "countries, 1st order divisions")
Administrative units: Banffshire ScoCnty       Inverness Shire ScoCnty       Moray ScoCnty       Nairnshire ScoCnty
Place: Moray

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.