Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Nottinghamshire, Nottingham, or Notts

Nottinghamshire, Nottingham, or Notts, north-midland county of England, bounded N. by Yorkshire, E. by Lincolnshire, S. by Leicestershire, and W. by Derbyshire; greatest length, N. to S., about 50 miles; greatest breadth, E. to W., about 25 miles; area, 527,752 ac., pop. 391,815. Towards the E., Nottinghamshire has a level surface; while westwards it is marked by gentle hills of no great elevation, which tend to impart some variety to the scenery. The eastern portion comprises the vales of the Trent and Belvoir; in the S., between the Soar and the Smite, are the Wolds, consisting of level tracts of moor and pasture; while in the W. are the remains of the royal forest of Sherwood. The Trent flows through the co. from SW. to NE., and is navigable for river vessels. All the other streams are tributaries of the Trent; they include the Soar, Erwash, and Idle. By the Nottingham and Grantham Canal, and the Fosse Dyke Canal, there is connection between the Trent and the Witham. The soil is varied, but cannot be spoken of as being highly productive. Green crops are the principal growth, and the common cereals are cultivated. Hop plantations are numerous, while in proximity to Nottingham and Newark there are many market gardens. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) Magnesian limestone and old red sandstone overlying coal prevail in the W.; in the other districts are formations of marl, new red sandstone, and lias, with quartz and gravel in the Forest. In a few places coal is worked. The principal mfrs. are laces of various descriptions, in recent years a great development being apparent in the production of lace curtains. Hosiery mfrs., woollen mills, cotton mills, and iron foundries are also actively productive. Nottinghamshire comprises 6 wapentakes, 273 pars. with parts of 5 others, the parl. and mun. bor. of Nottingham (3 members), and the mun. bors. of East Retford and Newark. It is almost entirely in the diocese of Southwell. For parliamentary purposes the county is divided into 4 divisions - viz., Bassetlaw. Newark, Rushcliffe, and Mansfield, 1 member for each division.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Administrative units: Nottinghamshire AncC
Place: Nottinghamshire

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.