Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Monaghan

Monaghan.-- an inland county of Ulster province, bounded N. by co. Tyrone, NE. by co. Armagh, SE. by co. Louth, S. by cos. Meath and Cavan, and W. by cos. Cavan and Fermanagh; greatest length, NW. and SE., 38 miles; greatest breadth, NE. and SW., 24 miles; average breadth, 15 miles; area, 319,741 ac. (5475 water), or 175 per cent, of the total area of Ireland; pop. 102,748, of whom 7377 per cent, are Roman Catholics, 1373 Episcopalians, 1179 Presbyterians, 075 Metho-dists. The surface is hilly or undulating, and bogs and lakes are frequent. Slaty rocks prevail, along with mountain limestone and sandstone. Iron and lead ore, antimouy, manganese, marble, and traces of coal occur in different districts. The soil varies from moor to a stiff clay, and is fertile in the more level parts. (For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) The principal crops are oats, barley, potatoes, and flax. Spade husbandry has been generally followed. The linen mfr. is carried on. The principal streams are the affluents of the Erne - Finn, Cootchill, and Annalee on the W., the Blackwater in the N., and the Fane and the Glyde in the S. The Ulster Canal passes through the county. The county comprises 5 bars.- Cremorne, Dartree, Farney, Monaghan, and Trough; 23 pars.; and the towns of Monaghan, Clones, CarrUkmacross, Castle-blayney, and Ballybay. For parliamentary purposes the county is divided into 2 divisions - viz., North Monaghan and South Monaghan, 1 member for each division.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "an inland county"   (ADL Feature Type: "countries, 2nd order divisions")
Administrative units: Monaghan IrlC
Place: County Monaghan

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.