Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Whalley

Whalley, township and vil. with ry. sta., NE. Lancashire, and par., partly also in N. div. West-Riding Yorkshire - par. (containing the towns of Accrington, Bacup. Burnley, Clitheroe, Colne, Haslingden, Nelson, &c.), 115,382 ac., pop. 244,395; township, 1603 ac., pop. 895; vil., 3½ miles S. of Clitheroe and 7½ NE. of Blackburn by rail; P.O., T.O. A Cistercian abbey was founded here in 1296, and its ruins attest the splendour of its architecture. Whalley church is a venerable structure rebuilt in 1100, having been founded in 628. The parish is the largest in Lancashire, and one of the largest in England; it consists of 49 townships (including 1 in Yorkshire), and is ecclesiastically divided into 43 entire districts and 10 parts.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "township and village with railway station"   (ADL Feature Type: "populated places")
Administrative units: Whalley Tn/AP/CP       Lancashire AncC
Place: Whalley

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.