Appendix D: Constitution of the Six Industrial Areas

Previous Selection


I. GREATER LONDON (or the City and Metropolitan Police Areas), comprising:—

LONDON Administrative County (including the City of London).

ESSEX, part of, viz.:—

The County Boroughs of East and West Ham.
The Urban Districts of Barking Town, Buckhurst Hill, Chingford, Ilford, Leyton, Loughton, Waltham
      Holy Cross, Walthamstow, Wanstead, and Woodford.
The Rural Districts of Epping (part of, viz., Chigwell C.P.) and Romford (part of, viz., Dagenham C.P.).

HERTFORDSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The Urban Districts of Barnet, Bushey, Cheshunt, East Barnet Valley, and Watford (part of, viz.,
      Oxhey C.P.).
The Rural Districts of Barnet, Hatfield (part of, viz., Northaw C.P.) and Watford (part of, viz.,
      Aldenham C.P.).

KENT, part of, viz.:—

The Municipal Borough of Bromley.
The Urban Districts of Beckenham, Bexley, Chislehurst, Crayford, Erith, Penge, and Sidcup.
The Rural District of Bromley (part of, viz., The Civil Parishes of Downe, Farnborough, Hayes, Keston,
      Mottingham, North Cray, Orpington, St. Mary Cray, St. Paul's Cray, and West Wickham).

MIDDLESEX Administrative County.

SURREY, part of, viz.:—

The County Borough of Croydon.
The Municipal Boroughs of Kingston on Thames, Richmond, and Wimbledon.
The Urban Districts of Barnes, Beddington and Wallington, Carshalton, Coulsdon and Purley,
      East and West Molesey, Epsom, Esher and the Dittons (part of, viz., Thames Ditton and
      Long Ditton C.P.s), Ham, Merton and Morden, Mitcham, Surbiton, Sutton, and
      The Maldens and Coombe.
The Rural Districts of Epsom (part of, viz., The Civil Parishes of Banstead, Cheam, Chessington,
      Cuddington, Ewell, and Woodmansterne) and Godstone (part of, viz., The Civil Parishes
      of Addington, Farleigh and Warlingham).


LANCASHIRE Administrative County (with associated County. Boroughs).

CHESHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The County Boroughs of Birkenhead, Stockport, and Wallasey.
The Municipal Boroughs of Dukinfield, Hyde, and Stalybridge.
The Urban Districts of Alderley Edge, Altrincham, Ashton upon Mersey, Bowdon, Bredbury and Romiley,
      Bromborough, Cheadle and Gatley, Compstall, Ellesmere Port and Whitby, Hale,
      Handforth, Hazel Grove and Bramhall, Higher Bebington, Hollingworth, Hoylake and West
      Kirby, Knutsford, Lower Bebington, Lymm, Marple, Mottram in Longdendale, Neston and
      Parkgate, Runcorn, Sale, and Wilmslow.
The Rural Districts of Bucklow, Runcorn, and Wirral.

DERBYSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The Municipal Borough of Glossop.
The Urban District of New Mills.


YORKSHIRE, WEST RIDING, Administrative County (with associated County Boroughs) and the County
      Borough of the City of York.

IV. NORTH-EAST COAST, comprising:—

YORKSHIRE, NORTH RIDING, part of, viz.:—

The County Borough of Middlesbrough.
The Municipal Borough of Thornaby on Tees.
The Urban Districts of Eston, Guisborough, Loftus, Redcar, Saltbum by the Sea, and Skelton and Brotton.
The Rural Districts of Guisborough and Middlesbrough.

DURHAM Administrative County (with associated County Boroughs).

NORTHUMBERLAND, part of, viz.:—

The County Boroughs of Newcastle upon Tyne and Tynemouth.
The Municipal Boroughs of Morpeth and Wallsend.
The Urban Districts of Ashington, Bedlingtonshire, Blyth, Cramlington, Earsdon, Gosforth, Hexham,
      Longbenton, Newbiggin by the Sea, Newburn, Prudhoe, Seaton Delaval, Seghill, Weetslade,
      and Whitley and Monkseaton.
The Rural Districts of Castle Ward, Hexham, Morpeth, and Newcastle upon Tyne.


STAFFORDSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The County Boroughs of Smethwick, Walsall, West Bromwich, and Wolverhampton.
The Municipal Borough of Wednesbury.
The Urban Districts of Amblecote, Bilston, Brierley Hill, Brownhills, Coseley, Darlaston, Heathtown
      or Wednesfield Heath, Perry Bar, Quarry Bank, Rowley Regis, Sedgeley, Short Heath,
      Tettenhall, Tipton, Wednesfield, and Willenhall.
The Rural Districts of Dudley and Walsall

WARWICKSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The County Boroughs of Birmingham and Coventry.
The Municipal Borough of Sutton Coldfield.
The Rural Districts of Coventry, Foleshill, Meriden and Solihull.

WORCESTERSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The County Borough of Dudley.
The Urban Districts of Bromsgrove, Lye and Wollescote, North Bromsgrove, Oldbury, Redditch, and
The Rural Districts of Bromsgrove and Halesowen.

VI. SOUTH WALES, comprising:—

MONMOUTHSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The County Borough of Newport.
The Urban Districts of Abercarn, Abersychan, Abertillery, Bedwas and Machen, Bedwellty, Blaenavon,
      Ebbw Vale, Llanfrechfa Upper, Llantarnam, Mynyddisiwyn, Nantyglo and Blaina, Panteg,
      Pontypool, Rhymney, Risca, and Tredegar.
The Rural District of St. Melons.

BRECKNOCKSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The Urban District of Brynmawr.
The Rural Districts of Crickhowell, Vaynor and Penderyn, Ystradgynlais, and the Civil Parish of
      Ystradfellte (administered by Neath Rural District Council).

CARMARTHENSHIRE, part of, viz.:—

The Municipal Boroughs of Kidwelly and Lianelly.
The Urban Districts of Ammanford, Burry Port, Cwmamman, and Llandilo.
The Rural Districts of Llandilofawr and Llanelly.

GLAMORGANSHIRE Administrative County (with associated County Boroughs).

Previous Selection