In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Stamfordham like this:
STAMFORDHAM, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Castle Ward district. Northumberland. The village stands on the river Pont, 6½ miles NNW of Wylam r. station, and 12 NW by W of Newcastle; was once a market-town; retains, on its green, a small but picturesque market house of 1785; is a polling place; and has a post-office‡ under Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and fairs on 20 Apriland 15 Aug.The parish contains 14 townships, and comprises 18,089 acres. Real property, £21,603; of which £152 are in mines. ...
Pop., 1,800. Houses, 350. The property is divided among a few. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Durham. Value, £520.* Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church, excepting the tower, was rebuilt in 1849. The p. curacy of Matfen is a separate benefice. A chapel of ease is at Ryall; and there are a U. Presbyterian church, an endowed school with £200 a year, and charities £12.The sub-district contains 4 parishes, and 3 parts. Acres, 41,019. Pop., 7,753. Houses, 1,548.
A Vision of Britain through Time includes a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Stamfordham has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Castle Morpeth. More detailed statistical data are available under Units and statistics, which includes both administrative units covering Stamfordham and units named after it.
GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Stamfordham, in Castle Morpeth and Northumberland | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.
Date accessed: 23rd May 2013
Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "Stamfordham".