St Fagans  Glamorgan


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described St Fagans like this:

FAGAN (St.), a village and a parish in Cardiff district, Glamorgan. The village stands on the river Ely, adjacent to the South Wales railway, 4 miles W of Cardiff; was almost rebuilt by the late Hon. R. W. Clive; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Cardiff. The parish comprises 2, 241 acres. ...

Real property, £2, 717; of which £12 are in quarries. Pop., 506. Houses, 101. The property is divided among a few. The manor belonged, in the 12th century, to Sir Peter de Vele; passed to the Gibbons and the Lewises; and came to Earl Amhurst. A castellated mansion, at the village, was built by Sir Peter de Vele; a square, high-gabled, picturesque house, within that mansion's court, was built by the Gibbons; and this is now the seat of Baroness Windsor. A battle, between an insurgent army of about 8, 000 and the army of Cromwell, was fought at St. Fagan in 1648. The living is a rectory, united with the p. curacy of Llanilterne, in the diocese of Llandaff. Value, £417.* Patron, the Dowager Countess Amhurst. The church was restored, in 1860, at a cost of £2, 000.

St Fagans through time

St Fagans is now part of Cardiff district. Click here for graphs and data of how Cardiff has changed over two centuries. For statistics about St Fagans itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of St Fagans, in Cardiff and Glamorgan | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 18th July 2018

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time , and maybe some references to other places called " St Fagans ".