Llechryd  Cardiganshire


In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Llechryd like this:

LLECHRYD, a village and a parish in the district and county of Cardigan. The village stands on the river Teifi, at the boundary with Pembroke, near the Carmarthen and Cardigan railway, 3 miles SE of Cardigan; is a pleasant place, and a resort of anglers; and has a postoffice under Carmarthen, and a bridge over the river, communicating with the charming grounds of Castle Malgwyn. ...

A large weir formerly was here, preventing salmon from ascending the river; and was destroyed, in 1844, by a large body of the Rebecca rioters. The village had once a tin-plate factory.—The parish comprises 943 acres. Real property, with Llangoedmore, £5,050. Pop., 454. Houses, 112. The property is divided among a few. A battle was fought here, in 1087, between Rhys ab Twdwr and the sons of Bleddin ab Cynfyn. The living & is a vicarage in the diocese of St. David's. Value, £109. Patron, alternately T. Lloyd, Esq., andR. Longcroft, Esq. The church was reported in 1859 as bad. A Presbyterian chapel was built here by Wade, one of the officers of Cromwell.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Llechryd, in and Cardiganshire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 21st January 2019

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time , and maybe some references to other places called " Llechryd ".