OXBOROUGH, a village and a parish in Swaffham district, Norfolk. The village stands on an affluent of the river Wissey, 3 miles N E by E of Stoke-Ferry, and 7 S W of Swaffham r. station; occupies the site of a Roman station, supposed by some to have been Iciani; is mentioned in Domesday book; was once a markettown; and has still a fair on Easter Tuesday. The parish comprises 2, 518 acres; and its post town is Stoke-Ferry, under Brandon. Real property, £2, 721. Pop.in 1851, 293; in 1861, 225. Houses, 51. The decrease of pop. was caused by the removal of cottages. The manor belonged once to Torchil the Dane; and, with Oxborough Hall and most of the land, belongs now to Sir Henry G. Bedingfeld, Bart. O. Hall is a castellated brick quadrangle of the 15th century; measures 118feet by 92; has towers 80 feet high, and a fine old gate-way; is surrounded by a moat; was visited by Henry VII.; and contains some curious old tapestry, and a number of paintings by old masters. An ancient camp and tumuli are at Warren Hill; and ancient coins have been found there. The living is a rectory, united with the vicarage of Foulden, in the diocese of Norwich. Value, £516.* Patron, Cains College, Cambridge. The church comprises nave, aisles, and chancel; has a squaretower, with a very lofty octagonal spire; and contains aterra cotta screen, and monuments of the Bedingfelds. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a handsome endowed school, and charities £100. The R. Catholic chapel was built in 1835, and is a neat edifice.
(John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72))
|Feature Description:||"a village and a parish" (ADL Feature Type: "populated places")|
|Administrative units:||Oxborough CP/AP Swaffham PLU/RegD Norfolk AncC|
Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.