Descriptive Gazetteer Entry for Wrexham

Wrexham, parl. and mun. bor., in SE. of Denbighshire, and par., partly also in Flintshire, on river Clywedog, 12 miles SW. of Chester and 179 miles NW. of London by rail - par., 15,879 ac., pop. 28,846; mun. bor., 1297 ac., pop. 10,978; parl. bor. (including Ertbig township, in Ciresford par.), 1791 ac., pop. 12,333; 2 Banks, 3 newspapers. Market-day, Thursday. Wrexham was long an important town on the Welsh border. It was known to the Saxons as Wrightesham. The parish church of St Giles, built about 1470, is one of the finest in North Wales. The town is situated at the junction of the Shrewsbury, Welshpool, Oswestry, and Chester roads, in a district containing coal, lead, and iron mines. It has large breweries, tanneries, &c., and in the vicinity are the Cefn-y-Bedd papermills. Wrexham was incorporated in 1857. It is one of the Denbigh Boroughs, which return 1 member to Parliament.

(John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887))

Linked entities:
Feature Description: "parliamentary and municipal borough"   (ADL Feature Type: "cities")
Administrative units: Wrexham AP       Denbighshire AncC
Place: Wrexham

Go to the linked place page for a location map, and for access to other historical writing about the place. Pages for linked administrative units may contain historical statistics and information on boundaries.